Norris Center Executive Committee

The Norris Center Executive Committee oversees the functioning of the Norris Center. This committee meets at least twice a year (and often once a quarter) to review and make decisions on expenditures from the Norris Center endowment and the Norris Student Awards endowment.  Other responsibilities include:

  • Preparing an annual budget and deciding which funding priorities will be pursued each year.
  • Conducting an annual program evaluation that will serve as the basis for an annual report to the David and Lucile Packard Foundation.
  • Submitting an annual report through the ENVS Chair to the David and Lucile Packard Foundation on the activities of the Norris Center (covering endowment expenditures, program evaluation, course activities, progress toward annual plans, accomplishments, recommendations for subsequent years, and funding needs).

Currently the Norris Center Executive Committee consists of:

Karen Holl, Norris Center Faculty Director and professor of Environmental Studies at UCSC

Bruce Lyon, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at UCSC

Chris Lay, Norris Center Administrative Director

Jenny Anderson, retired ENVS staff & lecturer and representative from the Friends of the Norris Natural History Programs

Richard Norris, Professor of Geosciences at UC San Diego and representative from the Friends of the Norris Natural History Programs